Shop Projects – Picture frames

The back door of my house was old and leaky; for years winter drafts had been kept out by an accumulated blob of weatherstripping and other temporary measures, and it was time for a change. Step 1 – obtain a new door. Step 2 – remove the old door….

During the removal I had some difficulty with the threshold, and in the process of getting it out I broke it. When I picked up the pieces I could see the wood where it had broken and I realized I had a piece of wood which deserved far better than the burn barrel. It was clear, tight-grained softwood (my guess is fir) and after a bit of cleaning and initial prep turned out to be exactly what I was looking for to frame some paintings I had picked up in Tokyo. A bit of millwork and mitering later gave me two simple frames, which with a walnut oil finish went perfectly with the paintings.

This is what the frames started out as:
scrap threshold

Once clean up and ripped into a blank the grain clearly shows up:
ripped

Milled and asseembled:
built

Finished with a coat of walnut oil:
finished

Complete with the paintings mounted. I don’t think either of these would have worked with a fancy frame.
complete

This entry was posted in Shop projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

