Real Life Review – Craftsman 218331 Tablesaw – Part 4: A dangerous guard

While not specific to this particular tablesaw as they seem to be used on all new saws, I have yet another reason why I dislike the “new style” blade guards required for tablesaws for the past several years, and these pictures show one of the many reasons why. I was smoothing the edge of a ripped board when all of a sudden the blade guard assembly just fell off. It nearly hit the blade before I was able to hit the shutoff switch, which probably would have thrown it into me. Talk about a kickback…

The irony of this is that I had just checked that the quick release mechanism was locked into place at the start of the day’s cutting, and I had only made about 5 cuts.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Real Life Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

